Time’s running out: RSVP for July 10 awards banquet

Bali Hai

Bali Hai

The SPJ San Diego Pro Chapter is pleased to announce the winners of the 2014 SPJ San Diego Area Journalism Awards Contest and the 2014 San Diego Journalists of the Year.

Here’s the list of those who have won first place, second place and honorable mention awards.

You’ll have to wait until the banquet to find out who won what!

Here are the banquet details:

When: Thursday, July 10, 2014. Reception at 5:30 pm, program starts at 7 pm.
Where: The Bali Hai’s Hawaiian Village bayside patio (2230 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106).
How Much: $40 per person and $35 for college students. Reserved tables are $320 for a table of eight. Buy your tickets here.
The event historically sells out, so don’t delay in getting your tickets!

We are also proud to announce the 2014 San Diego Journalists of the Year:

Mark Sauer

Mark Sauer

KPBS News Staff and Mark Sauer, Senior Editor

Sauer directed KPBS’s superior coverage of sexual harassment allegations against former Mayor Bob Filner. His leadership, news judgement, and work with reporters Amita Sharma, Sandhya Dirks and others helped KPBS break the story and stay well ahead of it throughout the summer of 2013. KPBS’s coverage included six women telling their stories of unwanted interactions with Filner exclusively to KPBS.

Sauer will give the keynote speech at the awards banquet. Longtime former newscasters Carol LeBeau and Lauren Reynolds will emcee the program and help us recognize San Diego’s best in journalism.

Hope to see you there!


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s