Congratulations to this year’s award winners!

The judges have judged and more than 150 (woo-hoo!) San Diego journalists produced award-winning work in 2022. Check the list below for your name and we’ll see you at our annual banquet at Stone Brewing on Tuesday, June 20, where you can pick up your award. Click here for details and a link to purchase tickets. We’ll be announcing first, second and third place winners, and winners of our special awards, at the banquet.


Join the San Diego SPJ Board!

We’re currently seeking candidates interested in running for a seat on our chapter’s board. Board members are involved in planning and executing events, putting on our annual awards banquet and advocating for local journalists. We meet on the first Tuesday of every month in the evening. If you’re an SPJ member, you’re eligible to run.

If you’d like to run for the board, please submit your candidacy statement, including any biographical information you would like to share (200-word limit) by 5 p.m. on Friday, June 2 to

Election results will be announced by early July. Need to renew your membership? Click here.

Who Should be San Diego’s Journalist of the Year?

Every year, the San Diego Pro Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists honors a local journalist whose work had a major impact in our San Diego community. We’re now accepting nominations for the 2023 journalist of the year. We ask that nominations focus on a journalist’s coverage or work on a particular story or topic in 2022. Submissions will be accepted through Friday, April 28.

Recent awardees include Vicente Calderón of Tijuana Press, Union-Tribune’s Paul Sisson, KPBS’s Claire Trageser and author and columnist Jean Guerrero.

To nominate someone, click here. The winner will be announced along with our other awards later this year and celebrated at our awards reception on June 20 at Stone Brewing World Bistro & Gardens – Liberty Station. More details on the ceremony to come!

SD-SPJ scholarship contest is now open

This year, SPJ San Diego will award up to five $1,500 scholarships to local college students in the categories of print, photojournalism and video/audio/multimedia. We are also awarding one $1,400 scholarship in honor of former North County Times columnist Agnes Diggs and one $1,000 scholarship in honor of former San Diego Union-Tribune reporter Bradley J. Fikes.

The deadline for scholarship applications is 9 p.m. Monday, April 17, 2023. See below for the full contest rules.

If you have any questions, email

Enter to win a print, photography or multimedia scholarship.
Enter to win the Agnes Diggs scholarship.
Enter to win the Bradley J. Fikes scholarship.