Introducing the new SPJ officers

SPJ-San Diego kicks off the 2009-10 year with a new slate of officers, ready to plan a year of fantastic programs for the local journalism community.

Joe Guerin

Joe Guerin

San Diego Daily Transcript editor Joe Guerin, a board member since 2007, has been elected president. Joe joined The Daily Transcript as managing editor in 2000 and was appointed editor in 2006. Before that, he served as the editor of the weekly Chula Vista Star-News and as the editor of Neighbors, a weekly supplement to the San Diego Union-Tribune.

Megan Russell Truett, who recently left her position as online content producer for the North County Times to take a new position as matriculation coordinator at Ashford University, was elected vice president. Tanya Mannes, a staff writer for the San Diego Union-Tribune, continues in her post as treasurer. Andrew Kleske, a senior online content producer for, longtime SPJ board member and past president, was elected secretary.

Congratulations to the new officers!


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s