Southwestern students win national Mark of Excellence awards

Several Southwestern College students and the Southwestern College Sun staff won national awards in SPJ’s Mark of Excellence awards, which were announced May 4.

SPJ received more than 3,600 entries in the awards contest, which honors the best in college journalism. The Southwestern College students won national awards in the two-year college division.

Congratulations to:

  • Southwestern College Staff – national winner in Editorial Writing for “The truths and myths of Raj K. Chopra”
  • Sean Campbell and Lyndsay Winkley – national winners in Breaking News Reporting for “Faculty union members banned”
  • Sean Campbell – national winner in General News Reporting
  • Sean Campbell – national finalist in Sports Writing for “No love for tennis teams”
  • Daniela Padilla – national winner in General News Photography for “Enough”
  • Misael Virgen – national finalist in Breaking News Photography for “Where have all the classes gone?”
  • Diana Inocencio – national finalist in Feature Photography for “Game Face”
  • Russell Scoffin – national finalist in Sports Photography for “Soar Feet”

The student journalists will be recognized Oct. 4, at the Mark of Excellence Awards Luncheon, held during the 2010 SPJ Convention & National Journalism Conference at The Planet Hollywood Hotel in Las Vegas. Click here for convention information. More schedule and registration information will be available online soon.

For the full list of national Mark of Excellence winners, visit


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s