Winners of San Diego SPJ’s 2016 Contest


Congratulations to all the winners at Thursday’s 2016 SPJ San Diego Area Journalism Awards Contest.

The full list of winners can be found here.

Journalists from news outlets throughout the region came to celebrate at the annual awards banquet. They recognized each other’s work and lauded the 2016 San Diego Journalist of the Year, Voice of San Diego’s Mario Koran.

Koran was chosen both for breaking one of the biggest stories of the year that helped lead to a school board trustee’s resignation and for his comprehensive coverage of San Diego’s education that aims to fill readers’ needs.

The banquet was held in a new location this year, the Kona Kai Resort & Spa. Bottles of hand sanitizer — a joke about last year’s banquet — decorated each table.

The board also thanked and congratulated its outgoing president Matthew Hall, who served two terms. It welcomed its new officers Claire Trageser, the president; Lisa Halverstadt, the vice president; Elliot Spagat, the secretary; and Andrew Kleske, the treasurer; and new board members Jennifer McEntee and Kelly Davis.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s