Congratulations to our scholarship winners!

Each year, the San Diego Pro Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists awards scholarships to local college students and recent graduates who show keen journalism chops. We’re always impressed and this year was no different. Higher ed is expensive, and we hope to make it a little more affordable for these future reporters. Below are our winners and a piece of work they’re particularly proud of. Celebrate them on July 21 at our annual awards reception at Stone Brewing in Point Loma.

Print Journalism Scholarships

Jakob McWhinney, San Diego City College. Read Jakob’s story, “How a San Diego Church Became a Nexus of Anti-Vaccine, Anti-COVID Lockdown and Right-wing Political Organizing.

Alfaro Headshot
Elaine Alfaro, Point Loma Nazarene University. Read Lainie’s opinion piece, “For young people like me, managing money is like a social media experience.”

Niloufar Shahbandi, UC San Diego. Read Niloufar’s story, “Workers Protest Poor Working Conditions at HDH.”


Multimedia Journalism Scholarships

Maritza Camacho, San Diego State University. Listen to the first episode of Maritza’s NPR syndicated podcast, Chronic Catastrophe.

Katy Stegall, San Diego State University. Check out Katy’s multimedia report, “San Diego County looks for solutions as fentanyl deaths continue to rise.”


Bradley J. Fikes Scholarship (in honor of San Diego Union-Tribune science journalist Brad Fikes, who died in December 2019)

Esteban Preciado, Southwestern College. Read Esteban’s compelling piece about communing with Bwindi Mountain Gorillas (flip through to page 17)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s