Nominations open for Journalist of the Year Award

Nominate your favorite local journalist for the SPJ San Diego Pro Chapter’s second annual Journalist of the Year Award, to be presented at the SPJ annual awards banquet in July.

The winner will be honored for achievements over the course of his or her journalism career, including any special achievements during the last year. The winner also will be selected based on consistent adherence to high standards of journalism, ethics and professionalism; service to the journalism profession; and advancement of First Amendment rights.

Nominees need not be SPJ members, but must reside in San Diego County and must work as journalists in any media – print, broadcast, or online.

In 2010, SPJ gave the inaugural San Diego Journalist of the Year Award to veteran NBC San Diego news anchor Marty Levin. Levin retired as news anchor of KNSD-TV NBC 7/39 in May 2010 after 23 years at the station and after a 33-year career that also included stints at KGTV Channel 10, KFMB Channel 8, and WRC-TV in Washington, D.C.

To nominate a candidate for Journalist of the Year, e-mail your nomination to You must include:  (1) the nominee’s contact information (name, job title, address, phone, e-mail); (2) the nominator’s contact information; and (3) a statement of 500 words or less explaining why the nominee should be honored. You also may attach a copy of the nominee’s resume.

The deadline for nominations is Tuesday, May 31.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s