We have winners: Sign up now to attend journalism awards banquet

The SPJ San Diego Pro Chapter is pleased to announce the 2013 SPJ journalism awards winners of the annual SPJ San Diego Area Journalism Awards Contest and the 2013 San Diego Journalist of the Year.

Loren Nancarrow - Bill Wechter/ U-T San Diego

Loren Nancarrow
– Bill Wechter/ U-T San Diego

SPJ will honor TV anchor and blogger Loren Nancarrow as 2013 San Diego Journalist of the Year, along with all contest winners, at the SPJ Annual Awards Banquet, set for Thursday, Jul. 11 at the Bali Hai.

For more than 30 years, Loren Nancarrow has educated and enlightened San Diego TV viewers with his vast knowledge of Earth and its climate on ABC 10 News, CBS 8 News and now on Fox 5 News. Loren is an outspoken conservationist and environmentalist who’s not afraid to air his (sometimes controversial) opinions about our planet. Loren is the co-author of four organic gardening books with Random House. He lives in San Diego’s North County with his wife, Susie, the owner of Nancarrow Realty Group in North County, and their pets. Loren was diagnosed with stage III brain cancer (Anaplastic Astrocytoma) in February and is receiving ongoing cancer treatment in San Diego. He’s taking time away from his position as anchorman on the Fox 5 evening news and blogging at thenancarrowproject.com.

SPJ is proud to honor Loren Nancarrow as the 2013 San Diego Journalist of the Year for his career achievements, his blog, his environmentalism, his sense of humor and his sense of purpose. Congratulations as well to all the winners of the annual SPJ San Diego Area Journalism Awards Contest! We look forward to seeing you at the awards banquet!

Check out the list of winners of first place, second place and honorable mention awards – but you’ll have to wait until the awards banquet to find out who won what! The banquet, which is held outside on the Bali Hai’s Hawaiian Village bayside patio, features a terrific Polynesian buffet and a no-host bar. The bay breezes can be cool, so bring a sweater or jacket.

Nancarrow will give the keynote speech at the awards banquet. Longtime former new anchors and emcees Marty Levin and Carol LeBeau will emcee the program and help us recognize San Diego’s best in journalism.

Banquet tickets are $40 per person and $35 for college students. Reserved tables are $320 for a table of eight. Tables can be reserved only by purchasing a table in advance. To buy your tickets, mail your check to SPJ San Diego, P.O. Box 880482, San Diego, CA 92168, or buy your tickets online at https://www.acteva.com/go/sdspj. To buy tickets at the door, RSVP at spjsandiego@gmail.com and bring cash or check only. The event historically sells out, so don’t delay in getting your tickets!

When: Thursday, July 11, 6 p.m. cocktails; 7 p.m. dinner and program until about 10 p.m.
Where: Bali Hai, 2230 Shelter Island Drive. Click here for directions.
Tickets: $40 per person; $320 for a table of 8. (The cost for college students is $35.)
Tables must be purchased in advance. To buy your tickets, mail your check to SPJ San Diego, P.O. Box 880482, San Diego, CA 92168, or buy your tickets online. To pay at the door, RSVP and bring cash or check only.
Questions? Contact us at spjsandiego@gmail.com or visit http://www.spjsandiego.org


Professional Media
Scott Allison
Hilary Andrews
Kera Armstrong
JW August
Debbi Baker
Paul Bandong
Lisa E Barfield
Sharon Bay
Sharon Bay
Lilly Bechtel
Christopher Bettin
Chris Birk
Mitch Blacher
Nick Blumberg
Michael Bower
Devin Browne
Megan Burks
Matt Burrows
Kyla Calvert
Angela Carone
Ward Carroll
Kristen Castillo
Maryann Castronovo
Virginia Cha
Sophy Chaffee
Lauren Ciallella
Luciana Colapinto
Michael Countis
Kevin Crowe
Keli Dailey
Anna Daniels
Carlos Davalos
Kristina Davis
Kristina Davis
Fred Dickey
Steve Dreyer
Christopher Earley
Jacey Eckhart
Irv Erdos
Katie Euphrat
Parke Ewing
Claire Yezbak Fadden
Joanne Faryon
Pat Finn
Stephen Fiorina
Aleen Fitzgerald
Adrian Florido
Kirsten Flournow
Joel Geluz
Mary Ann Georgantopoulos
Sloan Gibson
Kenny Goldberg
Sam Greenspan
Tracye Grimes
Ryann Grochowski
Ryann Grochowski
Joe Guerin
Shelton Guinn
Bill Gunderson
Craig Gustafson
Matthew Hall
Tom Hanks
Kendra Hartmann
David Hasemyer
Helen Hawes
Lorie Hearn
James Hebert
Anthony M Henderson
Samantha Henry
Samantha Henry
Elizabeth Marie Himchak
Lindsay Hood
Scott Hopkins
J Harry Jones
Andrew Keatts
John Keller
Tom Kennedy
Felicia Kit
Andrew Kleske
Roman S. Koenig
Keegan Kyle
Mariko Lamb
Nicole Larson
Morgan Lee
Lily Leung
Dana Littlefield
Manny Lopez
Ernesto Lopez
Christina Macone-Greene
Pat Maio
Chris Marvin
Christopher Maue
Nathan Max
Jennifer McEntee
Ellen Mcgregor
Nicholas McVicker
Sylvia Mendoza
Lucette Moramarco
Padma Nagappan
Dean Nelson
Candice Nguyen
Stephanie Ocano
Helen Ofield
David Ogul
Katie Orr
Shannon Pandaliano
Laura Pardo
Peggy Peattie
Jim Pelley
Emmet Pierce
Jessica Pietrafeso
Roxana Popescu
Douglas Porter
Sara Quigley
Brad Racino
Miriam Raftery
Debbie Ramsey
Pauline Repard
Jill Replogle
Carlos Rico
Christine Rinaldi
Nadine Arroyo Rodriquez
Rick Rogers
Peter Rowe
Sue Russell
Norbert R Ryan
Mark Sauer
Steve Schmidt
Kevin Schmiegel
Sheri Schwarzweller
Cristine Severance
Amita Sharma
Carol Goodhue Shull
Robert Shull
Emily Sorensen
Ken Stone
Chris Stone
Marsha Sutton
Genevieve Suzuki
Kim Swain
Lee Swanson
Joe Tash
Nathalie Taylor
Stephen Terry
Arie Thanasoulis
Rik Thiesfeld
Kelly Thornton
Claire Trageser
Marie Tutko
Ben Vankat
George Varga
Laura Walcher
Dennis Waldrop
Becky Weinstein
Lori Weisberg
Jennifer Whalen
John Wilkens
Brooke Williams
Beth Wood

College Media
Amanda Abad
Ailsa Alipusan
Adam Baird
Christian Benavides
Kaity Bergquist
Lina Chankar
Stephen Di Padova
Alexis Dominguez
Serina Duarte
Albert Fulcher
Nickolas Furr
Sandra Galindo
Jessie Gambrell
Pablo Gandara
Christian Gutierrez
Daniel Guzman
Andrew Hahn
Abby Hamblin
Ian Hanner
David Hernandez
Erin Hiro
Madison Hopkins
Joaquin Junco Jr.
David Kruger
Cindi Lundeberg
Melissa Martinez
David McVicker
Kristin Melody
Dustin Michelson
Fredrick Misleh
Marshall Murphy
Paige Nelson
Gio Nieto
Troy Orem
Zoya Popova
Ernesto Rivera
Marianna Saponara
Ryan Schuler
Alyssa Simental
Angela Van Ostran
Mary York
Antonio Zaragoza


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s